Lenderking Metal Products
This is a milestone year for our company... 150 years in business! In 1867, Phillip H. Lenderking opened a metal shop at 233 W. Pratt Street in Baltimore selling heating, plumbing and tin roofing products. That location is now home to the Baltimore Convention Center at the Inner Harbor. Later, Lenderking moved to the manufacturing heart of the city, Canton. By the turn of the century, Sparrows Point had become the largest steel mill in the world, less than 20 miles from Canton. With ready available materials and easy access to shipping and railroad Lenderking was poised to grow.
In the 1880's, the NIH was established and Lenderking seized the opportunity to supply the animal cages for their research. The rest, as they say is history.
In 1972 Lenderking was bought by the Semenuk family who still own it today. Built on values of hard work and American ingenuity, Lenderking pulls talent from the quality engineering establishments of the University of Maryland's Clark School of Engineering, and, the Johns Hopkins' Whiting School of Engineering.
Oriiginal Location at 233 W Pratt Streest in Baltimore
Wishing to expand his business, he bought a blacksmith and livery stable in Canton and converted them to an office and manufacturing facility.
The Shop was soon filled with the latest in machinery and began producing items for many of America's Iconic Companies like Black and Decker, Western Electric and Westinghouse.
Large Scale Products, including patented skylights were made and adorned building in many cities.
A central belt ran the length of the shop and powered all the mechanical machinery from one motor.
As machinery advanced, Lenderking continued to keep up with the latest technology. Today Lenderking uses CNC machinery to help them produce high quality products.